Posted by: Ingrid | October 29, 2010

Do Myth’s Matter?

There was an abundance of myths this evening from our guest speaker, a Historian by the name of Rick Shenkman. It was an eye-opening lecture and I enjoyed listening to him speak. Rick debunked several myths that I had believed to be true and, yes, I was a bit disappointed to hear about the staged footage of the Pearl Harbor attack. Even though it was staged footage, it does not change the emotion I felt when I visited Pearl Harbor myself. In my opinion, myth really doesn’t matter in the big picture of things because common sense would tell you that nothing is ever completely as it seems. We learn from our mistakes and pray that no one is sacrificed along the way. I imagine there are skeletons in the closet of America that we will never know of.

I don’t think that embracing myths are necessarily a bad thing because sometimes they help us feel better on the inside. If it weren’t for myths, I wouldn’t be where I am today.

Leave a Reply

Categories

