Posted by: Ingrid | September 30, 2010

Digital Storytelling Lecture #1

Digital Storytelling is quickly becoming one of my favorite classes. With the ease and simplicity of the average guy being able to create, edit and post video, this viral visual platform can make someone famous overnight. We watched quite a few videos this evening and I was familiar with some of the things we watched but for the most part, I had not seen many of the clips we watched. This is partially due to my lack of “free time” but I am guessing that this video gap is largely due to the fact that there are millions of videos out there and only so much time in the day and in my life. We have come a long way since the days of the wax cylinder and the possibilities are endless for the content we will create (and share with the world) for the future. Just a few short years ago, people were not receiving their video content from the internet and now 3 in 10 people are watching some sort of video online each week. It surprises me to hear that the number of content creators has essentially flatlined in the last year. What does this mean for the consumer? What does that say about the creator? Has the money well run dry? Could it be time for a new video sharing platform? I was introduced to a new, live online streaming television website called www.ivi.tv this evening and based upon the ease of use and selection of content, I think I found my new best friend.

Leave a Reply

Categories

